Jealous Butcher Records Presents From the Land of Ice and Snow: The Songs of Led Zeppelin

I’ve had the good fortune to be one of the executive producers of this compilation featuring prominent Northwest artists’ renditions of Led Zeppelin songs.  I’m excited to announce the upcoming CD release on October 12th and the upcoming show October 9th at the Doug Fir Lounge.

This double album – a labor of love for all those involved – has been six years in the making.  I first heard about the project 18 months ago.  I was at a client’s home when Rob Jones of Jealous Butcher Records stopped by to ask the client if he would record a song for the album.  I was speechless at first upon hearing about this record because Led Zeppelin is my favorite band.

Rob explained that he had been working on the project for the past six years, but he was unsure of who exactly would be best to use/and all of the steps ahead seemed like little mountains, for recording, mastering, producing, merchandising, and marketing the album.  Some of the songs also needed to be received, and tracked down from all of those who had offered to send something Rob’s way.  I immediately offered to do anything that I could to make sure that it could be finished.  I enlisted the help of Jeff Saltzman to master, Mike Jones of CD Forge to produce the CDs, Joan Hiller Depper of Riot Act Media to handle publicity, and Chad Crouch of Hush Records to help with t-shirt production.  Artist/ illustrator Carson Ellis designed the album cover.

Thus began my eighteen month long journey with the project.  It’s hard to believe that we’re one month away from the CD release and show.  You can preorder the double CD and/or t-shirts here.

Though I had no previous experience being an executive producer for an album, I found that the skills I use everyday in my real estate and design work aptly transfered to album production.  Production is production, in the end.

I had so many wonderful experiences working on this album.  The opportunity to work with friends I’ve known for years but rarely get to spend time with in our hectic lives.  The challenge of working on something I’ve never done before.  Watching all of the pieces come together.  Meetings with Rob, Joan, and Mike.  Early listenings of songs.  The anticipation, pleading, patience  and being so pleased in the end, while waiting for Chris Walla’s song, ‘In the Evening’.  The indelible mark that each artist left on their particular song.

I would love to do it all over again.

album photo shoot:

breakfast marketing/release meeting with Mike Jones, Joan Hiller Depper, and Rob Jones

chad crouch with dave depper and rob jones in background

corrina repp, joan hiller depper, sheryl eckrich and baby sam

1 Comment

Filed under lifestyle, Music

One response to “Jealous Butcher Records Presents From the Land of Ice and Snow: The Songs of Led Zeppelin

  1. Brian Belge

    sounds like a fun tribute compilation. are there any reviews of the cd yet? thanks, brian

Leave a Reply

